Handicap Parking Permits Massachusetts
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles allows disabled residents to obtain a disability parking placard or license plate if they meet certain qualifications on the handicap parking permit application. The types of Massachusetts handicap permit you could be entitled to include:
- Permanent disability placards (valid for five years)
- Temporary disability placards (valid for 2-24 months, depending on medical needs)
- Disability license plates (renewed with your vehicle registration)
- Disabled veteran license plates (renewed with your vehicle registration)
Anyone with a handicap permit from another state can use their placard in Massachusetts as long as they follow state laws.
Unfortunately, handicap parking abuse happens in Massachusetts every day. Violators could be subject to fines if they park in a handicap spot without a handicap license plate or placard.
Anyone who witnesses potential handicap parking abuse should report it immediately. People are encouraged to download and complete a complaint form and send it to the Registry of Motor Vehicles in Boston.
If you do have a valid handicap placard in Massachusetts, be sure to display it clearly from your rearview mirror in order to avoid potential confusion.
Parking Pass Requirements
There are certain requirements residents of Massachusetts must meet in order to have their handicap parking application accepted. Those requirements include:
- Not being able to walk 200 feet without resting
- Having a restriction due to chronic lung disease
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition
- Requiring the use of portable oxygen
- Requiring the assistance of a walking aid in order to move
- Legal blindness
- Permanent loss of use in one or more limbs
- Having severe arthritis
- And others
Disabled veterans can also fill out a handicap parking application to receive disabled veteran license plates. The disability must be 60% service-connected and verified by the Veteran’s Administration.
How to Apply
Filling out the handicap application form for receiving a handicap placard or license plate in Massachusetts is straightforward. You will need to:
- Complete the Application for Disabled Parking Placard/Plate (Form T20060)
- Include a medical certification by a licensed physician, chiropractor, registered nurse, physician’s assistant, optometrist, or podiatrist to verify your disability
- Payment for the appropriate fee (placards are free; license plates are $60 for vehicles and $20 for motorcycles; disabled veteran plates are free)
- Certification from the Veteran’s Administration regarding your disability being at least 60% service-related (for disabled veterans license plates)
Click here to start the process of obtaining your disability certification with the assistance of a qualified physician from Massachusetts.
Massachusetts allows temporary placards to be valid for longer than many other states, depending on your doctor’s certification. Once the temporary placard expires, a new handicap application form must be filled out with a new medical certification.
Permanent placards are renewable after five years and will be automatically mailed to you a few weeks prior to the expiration date. Any handicap license plates will be renewed at the time of renewing your vehicle registration.
If you believe you may meet the eligibility requirements for receiving a handicap license plate or placard in Massachusetts, be sure to contact us. Our licensed physicians are available in every state to evaluate your disability and verify your qualifications.