Tennessee Handicap Placard
The Tennessee Department of Revenue offers a variety of different handicap parking permits to residents with disabilities. Depending on your disability, you may be entitled to one of the following types of Tennessee handicap placards:
- A permanent handicap placard
- A temporary handicap placard
- A handicap license plate
- A license plate handicap decal
If you are visiting Tennessee from another state, you may use your handicap parking pass from that state as long as you follow Tennessee handicap parking laws.
Tennessee Handicap Placard Laws
If you receive a handicap parking pass in Tennessee, you must display it prominently from your rearview mirror when parked in a handicap spot. Failure to do so could lead to a citation. You must also remove the handicap placard when you put the vehicle in motion.
People with a handicap parking pass must be either the driver of the vehicle or a passenger at the time the placard is being used. If the eligible applicant is not in the vehicle when the placard is used, the person could face a fine or citation.
Parking Pass Requirements
When filling out your handicap parking permit application, you must state whether you meet the following requirements:
- Disabled by paraplegia or amputation of one or more limbs
- Being confined to a wheelchair as a result of a severe disability
- Not being able to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Requiring the use of a crutch, a brace or other assistive device
- Suffering from pulmonary or cardiac illnesses
- Having vision of 20/200 or less with corrective lenses
- Seeking treatment for a disability solely through prayer in the practice of religion, and certified by a Christian Science practitioner
How To Apply for a Tennessee Handicap Placard
You can send in your completed handicap parking permit application form via mail or in person when applying in Tennessee. The Tennessee handicap placard application process includes:
- Completing the Application for Disabled Person License Plate, Placard and/or Decal (Form RV-F1310301)
- Having the form certified by a medical professional for your disability, including:
- A licensed medical doctor
- A physician’s assistant
- A nurse practitioner
- A Christian Science practitioner listed in the Christian Science Journal
- Paying the applicable fees (temporary placards are $10; permanent placards are $21.50; license plates are $21.50; a handicap decal is free)
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in Tennessee.
Temporary handicap placards are valid for up to six months and can only be renewed one time. To renew it, you must fill out a new application form and provide a new medical certification, along with paying the $10 renewal fee.
Permanent handicap placards are valid for up to two years. You must fill out a new application form, but you do not need to provide a new medical certification. You must also pay a $3 renewal fee.
Handicap license plates are valid for one year and are renewed when you renew your vehicle registration. The renewal fee is $21.50.
If you believe you may qualify for a handicap parking pass in Tennessee, be sure to contact us right away. We have licensed physicians ready in every state to evaluate your disability and determine your qualifications.