Connecticut Handicap Parking Permit Applications
People with qualifying disabilities in Connecticut may be eligible for either a handicap placard or license plate, depending on the nature of their disability. The validity of each varies based on the type:
- Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months and must be re-applied for after their expiration
- Permanent placards are valid for up to 6 years and must be re-applied for after their expiration
- License plates have a specific expiration date and can be renewed by mail
The type of handicap sticker or placard you receive will depend on the verification of a physician, but the Connecticut handicap parking permit application process is straightforward.
Anyone violating laws regarding handicap parking signs are subject to strict penalties and fines, including:
- $150 fine for a first violation
- $250 fine for a second violation
- Impounded or towed vehicle for third and subsequent violations
If you have a disabled parking pass and have a verified disability, be sure to hang the placard on the rearview mirror when the vehicle is parked, but remove it when the vehicle is in motion.
People are encouraged to report any handicap parking abuse immediately to the Connecticut Motor Vehicle Office and filing a police report.
Parking Pass Requirements
Some of the specific requirements for obtaining a handicap parking permit in Connecticut include:
- Being considered legally blind by a certified optometrist
- Being unable to walk 200 feet without resting
- Limited use of one or both legs
- Limited ability to walk due to an orthopedic, neurological or arthritic condition
- Limited mobility due to a neuromuscular disorder
- Requiring the use of portable oxygen
- Having a Class III or IV cardiac condition
- Having a specific lung disease
- And others
If you are a disabled veteran in Connecticut with a state registered vehicle, you can apply for a handicap license plate. You must also be a member of the Disabled American Veterans Organization and get in touch with the appropriate liaison to obtain an application.
How to Apply
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles accepts applications for a handicap sticker in different ways, depending on the permit you need:
- Permanent disability placards – apply in person, by mail, e-mail or fax
- Temporary disability placards – apply by mail or in person
- License plates – in person at a Connecticut DMV office only
The following information is needed to submit a completed application for consideration:
- A completed Special Permit Application and Impairment Certificate (Form B-225)
- Medical certification by a licensed physician on the application
- Applicable fees
- Temporary placards cost $5
- License plates are the cost of standard tax and vehicle registration fees
- Permanent placards are free
Click here now to get in touch with a doctor in Connecticut and start applying for your disability certification.
You must renew both your temporary and permanent handicap placard by the expiration date by applying for a new placard. The renewal process is the same as a first-time application.
If you believe you may be eligible to receive a handicap parking permit in Connecticut, be sure to contact us to go through the verification process. We have licensed physicians in every state ready to help you verify your eligibility.