Applying for Handicap Parking Permits In Michigan
The Michigan Secretary of State offers several different options for people with disabilities. When you successfully complete and submit a handicap parking permit application in Michigan, you could be entitled to:
- A permanent disability placard (valid up to four years)
- A temporary disability placard (valid up to six months)
- A permanent disability license plate (expires every year on your birthday)
- A yellow sticker to use for parking meter fee exemptions
Having a handicap sign for a car entitles disabled people to many different benefits, but there are also laws that must be followed as well.
Any person who intentionally commits fraud in order to obtain a handicap parking permit could be subject to a fine of up to $500 and a maximum of 30 days in jail. Law enforcement officers who witness handicap parking abuse can confiscate the permit and forward it to the Secretary of State to take appropriate action.
If you have a verified disability and receive a handicap placard, it must be clearly displayed from the rearview mirror or on the dashboard when parked in a handicap spot. The placard must also be removed when the vehicle is in motion.
Parking Pass Requirements
When you fill out a handicap application form in Michigan, you need to make sure you have the following requirements in order to be approved for a handicap placard or license plate:
- Legal blindness
- Lack of fine motor control
- Requiring the use of an assistive device for mobility
- Cannot walk more than 200 feet without rest
- Lung disease restricting mobility
- Severe arthritis or other condition that limits mobility
- Level III or IV cardiovascular condition
- Relies on the use of a portable oxygen tank
How to Apply
The Michigan Secretary of State allows residents to apply for a handicap sign for their car in person or via mail. To complete the handicap application form, you must:
- Fill out the Disability Parking Placard Application (Form BFS-108) or Application For a Disability License Plate (Form MV-110), depending on the type of permit you require
- Medical certification from a licensed physician, chiropractor, optometrist, nurse practitioner, or physician’s assistant specifying the severity and duration of your disability
- Appropriate fees (license plates require standard vehicle registration fees; placards are free)
Click here to start applying for your disability certification with a licensed doctor in the state of Michigan.
To renew a permanent handicap placard in Michigan, you don’t need a new medical certification and can renew in a variety of different ways. Temporary handicap placards must be renewed by filling out a new handicap application form with a new medical certification from your physician.
Replacing a lost, stolen or damaged handicap placard requires residents to go to a Michigan Secretary of State office with your ID and a $10 replacement fee.
Michigan has some strict eligibility requirements when it comes to obtaining a handicap sign for a car, so contact us today if you believe you may qualify. We have licensed physicians on standby in every state to help determine your qualifications and provide you with a medical certification.