Georgia Handicap Parking Placard
Residents with specific disabilities may be eligible to receive a Georgia handicap parking placard for their vehicle. The Georgia Department of Revenue provides several different types of handicap placards and license plates:
- Permanent disability placards – expires four years from receipt
- Temporary disability placards – expires 180 days upon receipt
- Disability license plates – expires four years from receipt
- Disabled veteran license plates – renewed with your vehicle registration
When you fill out your application for a disabled parking badge, you will have to specify the type of disability you have, which will determine the type of placard you are eligible for.
When you get your Georgia handicap parking placard, be sure to hang it from your rearview mirror when parked in a handicap spot. Otherwise, your car may be mistaken for a handicap parking abuser and could be towed.
If you observe someone parking in a spot with a handicap decal, but it’s clear they aren’t disabled, you are encouraged to contact local law enforcement immediately. The abuser may have to pay a fine, have their handicap placard suspended or even could be subject to imprisonment.
Parking Pass Requirements
Georgia law has several possible criteria applicants must meet in order to qualify for a handicap parking placard, including:
- Relying on a wheelchair or other assistive device to move
- Inability to walk 200 feet without resting
- Lung disease affecting breathing capability
- Severely limited mobility due to neurological, arthritic or orthopedic conditions
- Pregnancy complications
- Hearing impairment
- Being legally blind
- Having a severe cardiac condition
- And others
Disabled veterans can also receive handicap license plates in Georgia. Their disability must be 100% service-connected and be verified by the Veteran’s Administration or the Federal Government. The criteria for veterans include:
- Loss of use of one or both hands or feet
- Loss of sight in one or both eyes
- Being completely permanently disabled
How to Apply
Different Georgia Department of Revenue offices have different rules regarding how you can apply for a disabled parking badge. Most offices require you to submit your Georgia handicap parking application in person, but some may accept submissions by mail. In order to apply, you need:
- A completed Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit (Form MV-9D)
- Medical certification from a licensed physician explaining your disability
If you are also applying for a disability license plate, you will still need the two pieces mentioned above, as well as:
- Your registration renewal notification or the Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application (Form MV-1)
- Payment for fees ($20 for license plates, plus tax)
Click here to obtain your disability certification with the help of a qualified doctor in the state of Georgia.
Renewing your Georgia handicap parking placard is simple. Temporary placards require applying for a new one, along with a new medical certification. However, permanent handicap parking placards can be renewed without providing an additional medical certification, in most cases. Contact your local Georgia Department of Revenue office for specific instructions.
If you aren’t sure whether you qualify for a Georgia disabled parking permit, be sure to contact us. We have licensed physicians in every state ready to evaluate you to determine if you qualify.