Oregon Handicap Parking Permit
Residents of Oregon with qualifying disabilities can apply to receive an Oregon handicap parking permit. The Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division offers the following types of permits:
- Temporary permits (for temporary disabilities or for people traveling from out of state)
- Renewable parking permits (for permanent disabilities)
- Wheelchair permits (for people requiring a wheelchair)
- Family permits (for families with at least two disabled people in the same house)
- Program permits (for organizations transporting people with disabilities)
Disability license plates are only available to disabled veterans, and they must also apply for a handicap parking pass as well.
Anyone who receives a handicap parking pass after completing the Oregon handicap placard application must follow the state’s handicap parking laws. You must hang the placard from your rearview mirror when the vehicle is parked in a handicap spot, or place it on the dashboard if you do not have a rearview mirror. The placard must be removed when you put the vehicle in motion.
It is considered a crime in Oregon to falsely claim a disability in order to receive a handicap parking pass. If found guilty, the accused could face a jail sentence of up to six months, or a fine of up to $1,000 or both.
Oregon Handicap Parking Permit Requirements
A person with a disability must meet the following requirements to be eligible to receive a handicap parking permit in Oregon:
- Inability to walk more than 200 feet without resting
- Being severely limited in mobility due to paralysis or loss or use of one or more limbs
- Complete or substantial loss of vision
- Requiring the use of any type of assistive device in order to walk
- Having severe conditions, such as chronic heart conditions, emphysema, rheumatism, arthritis, ulcerative colitis or related chronic bowel disorder
How To Apply for a Handicap Parking Permit in Oregon
The handicap parking permit application to receive disability placard in Oregon is straightforward. You will need to complete:
- The Application for Parking Permit for an Individual with a Disability (Form 735-265)
- The certification statement by a licensed medical professional, including:
- Doctors of Medicine
- Certified Nurse Practitioners
- Certified Physician Assistants
- Licensed Optometrists
You may submit your handicap parking application via mail or in person at any Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division.
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in Oregon.
Temporary permits expire after six months but can be re-applied for by filling out a new application. You will also need a new medical certification with the application.
Renewable parking permits are valid for the same duration as your Oregon driver’s license or ID card. You can renew these permits by completing another application with a new medical certification and submitting it in person.
Our licensed physicians are available in every state to help you determine your qualifications for receiving a handicap parking pass. Be sure to contact us today to see if you qualify to receive one in Oregon.