Ohio Handicap Parking Permit
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle issues handicap parking permit placards and license plates to those that meet the necessary qualifications on the handicap parking application. A disability license plate may be issued to an individual whose disability impairs their ability to walk, a vehicle that has been altered to accommodate an individual who is disabled, and a bus that provides transportation for individuals who are disabled. Disability placards may be issued to an individual whose disability impairs their ability to walk or to an organization that provides transportation for such individuals.
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers the following types of handicap permits:
- Temporary placards (valid for up to six months)
- Permanent placards (valid for the duration as specified by your doctor)
- Disability license plates (valid with your vehicle registration)
As with most other states, anyone visiting Ohio can use the handicap placard from their state as long as they follow local handicap parking rules.
The state of Ohio is very strict when it comes to handicap parking permit violations. Anyone who parks in a handicap parking space without a disabled parking pass will be fined anywhere from $250 to $500.
Anyone who misrepresents themselves as being disabled in order to receive a disabled parking pass will also be subject to penalties. Those penalties include confiscation of the handicap placard and the revocation of future privileges of obtaining a handicap placard or license plate.
Parking Pass Requirements
To be eligible for a handicap parking permit in Ohio, you must meet the following requirements, as certified by a doctor:
- Inability to walk 200 feet without resting
- Requiring the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Being restricted by a specific lung disease
- Needing assistance from a cane, crutch, brace, prosthetic device, wheelchair, another person or other assistive device for mobility
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to the American Heart Association standards
- Limited mobility due to a neurological, orthopedic or arthritic condition
- Being legally blind or severely visually impaired
How to Apply for Handicap Parking in Ohio
In order to apply for a handicap parking pass in Ohio, you must:
- Complete the Application for Disability Placards (Form BMV 4826) for a handicap placard
- Complete the Health Care Provider Certification of Eligibility for Disability License Plates (Form BMV 4834) for disability license plates
- Have a prescription from a healthcare professional with a specified duration of the disability signed by:
- A physician
- A physician’s assistant
- An advanced practice nurse
- A chiropractor
- Pay the applicable fees ($3.50 for placards; fees vary for license plates)
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in Ohio.
In Ohio, to renew your temporary handicap placard, you must re-submit a new application form and new medical certification.
When it’s time to renew your permanent handicap placard, the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles will send you a renewal application via mail prior to the expiration date with instructions on how to renew.
Disability license plate renewals are completed at the time of renewing your vehicle registration.
If you believe you may qualify to receive a disabled parking pass in Ohio, be sure to contact us right away. We have licensed physicians in every state ready to evaluate your disability and determine whether you meet the proper requirements.