South Dakota Handicap Placard
South Dakota handicap placards allow certain parking advantages and are available to eligible residents with disabilities. The types of permits issued by the South Dakota Department of Revenue include:
- Permanent placards
- Temporary placards
- Handicap license plates
Anyone visiting South Dakota from another state can use their handicap placard from that state, as long as they follow South Dakota’s handicap rules and regulations.
South Dakota Handicap Placard Laws
Providing false information on a handicap application form could lead to a Class 1 misdemeanor in the state of South Dakota. If a person is found using a handicap parking placard without having a disability, the person is subject to a Class 2 misdemeanor and a possible fine of $100 or more.
Eligible applicants must display their South Dakota handicap placard on their vehicle when parked in a designated handicap spot. Failure to do so could lead to a citation being issued. The placard must also be removed from visibility when the vehicle is in motion.
Parking Pass Requirements
There are several different requirements residents of South Dakota must meet in order to receive a disabled parking badge, including:
- Not being able to walk 200 feet without resting
- Being restricted by a severe lung disease
- Requiring the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Not being able to walk without the use of an assistive device, like a cane, crutch, brace, prosthetic device, wheelchair or another person
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to the American Heart Association standards
- Limited mobility due to a neurologic, orthopedic or arthritic condition
How To Get a Handicap Placard in South Dakota
You can apply via mail or in person to receive your handicap parking permit in South Dakota. The application process involves:
- Filling out the Application for Physically Disabled Parking Permit and License Plates (Form MV-044)
- Medical certification signed by a licensed physician
- For license plate applications, you must provide proof of residence
- Paying the applicable fees (license plates are $5, placards are free)
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in South Dakota.
Temporary South Dakota handicap placards are valid for up to one year, depending on your medical certification. If you need to renew your temporary placard, you must fill out a new application form as outlined above and provide a new medical certification statement as well.
Permanent handicap placards are valid for up to five years. In order to renew your permanent handicap placard, you must fill out a new application form as outlined above, but you do not need to provide a new medical certification.
Handicap license plates are renewed at the time you renew your vehicle registration.
Our licensed physicians are available in every state to evaluate you and determine your qualifications for receiving a disabled parking badge. If you believe you may qualify to receive one in South Dakota, be sure to contact us for your medical evaluation.