Handicap Parking New Jersey DMV Forms
Disabled parking passes are applied for through the Motor Vehicle Commission if they have a qualifying disability. There are different types of handicap parking permits in New Jersey, including:
- Temporary handicap placards (expires after six months)
- Permanent handicap placards (expires after three years)
- Handicap license plates (expires after three years)
If you’re approved for a New Jersey handicap parking sign, you’ll be able to park in any designated handicap spaces and also park for up to 24 hours in any space with designated time limits.
People who qualify for a handicap placard in New Jersey must have it displayed on their rearview mirror when parked in a designated handicap spot. Failure to do so could lead to a fine or citation. Once the vehicle is in motion again, you must remove the placard.
Handicap parking abuse happens in New Jersey every day. If you witness someone parked in a handicap spot, but the person is clearly not disabled, you are encouraged to contact local authorities right away. Fraudulent use of a handicap parking permit in New Jersey is taken seriously and violators will be prosecuted accordingly.
Parking Pass Requirements
Having a disabled parking pass in New Jersey provides plenty of benefits. That’s why the set New Jersey handicap parking requirements to get one include:
- Permanent and severe disability, to the point where an assistive device is needed in order to walk
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition, in accordance with the American Heart Association standards
- Can’t walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Having a severe lung disease
- Loss of use of one or more limbs due to paralysis, amputation, or permanent disability
- Permanent sight impairment of both eyes
- Limited mobility due to an arthritic, orthopedic or neurological condition
How to Apply
New Jersey residents can apply for a disabled parking pass in person or by mail. The application process involves:
- Completing the Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability (Form SP-41)
- Having a medical certification on the form by a licensed physician to verify your disability. The verification must be signed within 60 days prior to submitting the application for a New Jersey handicap placard.
- Providing a copy of your vehicle registration if applying for license plates
It’s important to note that for temporary handicap placards in New Jersey, you must apply in person to your local community police chief. You can complete and submit the Application for Temporary Placard (Form SP-68) with your medical certification and a $4 fee. Click here to apply online and obtain your disability certification from a qualified New Jersey doctor.
Renewing a permanent handicap placard or license plate in New Jersey requires a new disability certification every three years. If you have a handicap license plate, you must also renew your vehicle registration at the same time.
Temporary handicap placards can be renewed one time for another six months with the re-certification of a licensed physician. You will need to complete the New Jersey DMV form again and pay another $4 fee in order to renew a temporary placard.
We have a licensed physician in every state in the United States to help determine whether you qualify for a handicap parking permit in New Jersey. Be sure to contact us for an evaluation and to determine whether you’re eligible for a handicap parking placard.