Arkansas Handicap Parking Permits
Residents of Arkansas can apply for a handicap placard or license plate in order to park in handicap parking spaces. There are different Arkansas handicap parking permit application requirements, and there are different types of placards and license plates available, including:
- Permanent license plates that expire with your vehicle registration
- Permanent renewable handicap placards (expire in two years)
- Temporary handicap placards for disabilities not extending beyond three months and are not eligible for renewal
The handicap sign or placard will be issued by the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle department if you meet all of the qualifications.
If you apply and are approved for a handicap parking placard, you must display the placard on your rearview mirror when parked, but remove it when the vehicle is in motion. Failure to appropriately display the placard could result in:
- A fine of up to $500 for the first offense
- A fine of up to $1,000 for the second and subsequent offense
These fines are put into place to prevent people from abusing handicap parking spots. If a person deliberately misuses the handicap parking privilege when they don’t have a disability, their vehicle will also be subject to impoundment.
Parking Pass Requirements
To qualify for a handicap placard in Arkansas, you must meet certain requirements to prove your disability. Those requirements include:
- Not being able to walk 100 feet without resting
- Having injuries or disorders including, but not limited to:
- Spinal cord injury
- Multiple sclerosis
- Genetic ambulatory disorder
- Spina bifida
- Other conditions that limit mobility
- Lung disease which causes difficulty breathing
- And more…
These conditions must be verified by a licensed physician and be indicated on your application at the time it’s submitted. Additional documentation may be required to verify your condition in order to accept the application.
How to Apply
Applying for a handicap placard or license plate in Arkansas can be done by mail or in person at an Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle location. In order to apply:
- A completed Application for Persons with a Disability License Plates (Form 10-366), which can be found online or at the AR OMV, must be submitted
- Your qualified physician must fill in the appropriate sections and sign
- You must present a proof of identity (Social Security Number, Arkansas Driver’s license number or Arkansas state ID card number)
- Payment for the fees (only disability license plates require a fee)
When it’s time to renew your permanent handicap placard, you can do so by renewing at an Arkansas Revenue Office. It’s important to note your disability does not have to be certified by a physician at the time of renewal. The only time you will need to re-certify your condition is if you have a temporary handicap placard and need to apply for a new one once it expires.
Qualifying for a handicap parking placard in Arkansas isn’t difficult if you meet the requirements. We are here to help you determine your eligibility and determine the correct Arkansas handicap parking permit you need, so feel free to contact us if you need more information. Click here to start the process of obtaining certification for your disability with the aid of a licensed physician in Arkansas.