Handicap Parking Permits & Placards in North Carolina
The state of North Carolina offers different types of handicap parking permits to people with disabilities. The types of permits include:
- Permanent placards (valid for up to five years)
- Temporary placards (valid for up to six months)
- Permanent disability license plates (renewed with your vehicle registration)
Organizations that transport people with disabilities on a regular basis may also be eligible for a handicap placard in North Carolina. If you are an individual visiting from another state, you can use your state’s handicap placard, but must follow the state laws.
There are a few important laws you must be aware of regarding your handicap placard in North Carolina, including:
- The placard must hang from the rearview mirror or on the driver’s side dash when the vehicle is parked
- The placard registration card must be available and accessible when parked in a spot with a handicap sign
- The placard can be used in other vehicles as long as the disabled person the placard was issued to is the driver or the rider
Parking Pass Requirements
There are several requirements you can meet to be eligible for a handicap placard or license plate in North Carolina. The disability must be verified by a licensed physician, and can include any of the following:
- Inability to walk 200 feet without resting
- Restricted mobility due to lung disease
- Requires the use of a cane, brace, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair, another person or other assistive device for mobility
- Requires the use of portable oxygen
- Limited mobility due to a neurological, orthopedic or arthritic condition
- Complete blindness or defective vision that prevents the performance of ordinary activities where eyesight is essential
- Has a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition in accordance with the American Heart Association standards
How to Apply
Residents of North Carolina can apply for their handicap parking placard or license plate via mail or in person. The application process includes:
- Filling out the Application for Disability Parking Placard (Form MVR-37A)
- Having a licensed physician fill out the Physician’s Section on Form MVR-37A to certify the disability and determine whether it is permanent or temporary
- Having an eye doctor or a Division of Services for the Blind associate certify any qualifying vision-related disability
- Paying the $5 fee for the placard
To apply for a disability license plate in North Carolina, you must:
- Fill out the Application for Handicap Driver Registration Plate (Form MVR-37)
- Have a licensed physician fill out the certification section
- Have an ophthalmologist, an optometrist or a Division of Services for the Blind representative fill out the certification section if you have a vision-related disability
- Pay the $36 fee
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in North Carolina.
If you have a temporary handicap placard in North Carolina, you must fill out a new application with a new medical certification if you need it longer than six months. If you have a permanent handicap placard, you will receive a renewal form in the mail prior to its expiration date. You must get a new medical certification for permanent placards as well.
Our licensed physicians are available in every state to help you determine whether you qualify for a handicap parking placard or license plate. If you believe you may qualify in North Carolina, be sure to contact us.