Handicap Parking Permits in Maine
Residents with disabilities have different options when it comes to obtaining a handicap permit in Maine. The types of permits the Main Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers include:
- Temporary handicap placards (expires after six months)
- Permanent handicap placards (expires after four years)
- Handicap placards for organizations transporting disabled people (expires after four years)
- Handicap license plates (expires with your vehicle registration)
- Disabled veteran license plates (expires with your vehicle registration)
The state of Maine recognizes a handicap permit from any other state, so visitors do not have to apply for a new one in Maine but must follow the handicap placard rules for the state.
Maine recognizes handicap parking abuse as traffic violations, which could result in fines of more than $200. People are encouraged to report any suspicious activity regarding handicap parking abuse to local authorities.
Even if you have a disability, you cannot use a handicap placard or license plate to park in a designated handicap spot if it was not issued to you. However, it is legal to park in a handicap spot if the person who was issued the placard is in the vehicle with you.
Parking Pass Requirements
Before you fill out an application for handicap parking in Maine, be sure you meet one of the following requirements to obtain a permit:
- Limited mobility due to a neurological, arthritic or orthopedic condition
- A Class III or Class IV cardiac condition
- Restrictions due to a lung disease
- Required assistance from a wheelchair, cane, brace or other device in order to walk
- Inability to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Required use a portable oxygen tank
- Recovery from recent childbirth (temporary placards only)
Disabled veterans can apply for disabled veterans license plates in Maine as long as the disability is 100% service-connected. The disability must also be verified by the Veteran’s Administration. If you qualify, you can enjoy the benefits of not having to pay the registration fee and possibly no excise tax, sales tax or title fees.
How to Apply
The Maine Bureau of Motor vehicles allows you to submit a handicap parking application by mail, fax or in person. The following items are needed:
- A completed Application for Disability Plates/Placard (Form PS-18)
- Medical certification completed by a licensed physician, physician’s assistant, nurse practitioner, or registered nurse
- A copy of your vehicle registration (for license plates only)
No fees are required for handicap placards or license plates, but standard vehicle registration fees are still due. Click here to start applying for your disability certification with a qualified doctor in the state of Maine.
Renewing a permanent handicap placard requires filling out a new application again, but you do not need to get a new medical certification.
Renewing a temporary handicap placard also requires filling out a new application, along with a new medical certification from a licensed physician.
Any handicap license plates are renewed with your vehicle registration.
We have a licensed physician in every state ready to determine your qualifications for receiving a handicap permit. If you believe you may qualify for a handicap permit in Maine, be sure to contact us.