Wyoming Handicap Parking Permit
Wyoming residents with disabilities may qualify to receive a disabled parking permit from the Wyoming Department of Transportation. The types of permits issued include:
- Permanent disability placards
- Temporary disability placards
- Disability license plates
- Disabled veteran license plates
People traveling to Wyoming can use their handicap placard from their home state, but must follow Wyoming handicap placard laws.
Anyone who receives a Wyoming handicap parking permit must display it from their rearview mirror when parked in a handicap spot. The placard must also be removed from view prior to putting the vehicle into motion again.
A person who is found guilty of misusing or providing fraudulent information in order to obtain a handicap permit is subject to a fine of up to $100 for the first offense and a possible suspension of the permit for up to 60 days. Subsequent convictions could lead to fines of up to $250 and up to six months suspension of the permit.
Parking Pass Requirements
There are several specific requirements you must meet in order to receive a Wyoming handicap parking permit. The requirements include:
- Not being able to walk without assistance from a crutch, brace, cane, wheelchair, prosthetic device, another person or other assistive devices
- Unable to walk 200 feet without resting
- Requiring the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Severely restricted mobility as a result of lung disease
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to the American Heart Association standards
- Limited mobility due to an orthopedic, arthritic or neurological condition
- Having a severe audio or visual disability
How to Apply
Filling out a Wyoming handicap placard application is simple, and can be submitted by mail or in person. Here are the steps you should take:
- Complete the Application for Handicapped Vehicle Identification Placard (Form FSDI-916)
- Have the disability certification filled out by a licensed physician
- Pay the applicable fees (placards are free; license plates require standard registration fees)
For disabled veteran license plates:
- Fill out the Application for Military Related Plates (Form MV-100)
- Provide proof from the Veteran’s Administration that at least 50% of your disability is a result of your service
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in Wyoming.
A temporary disability parking permit is valid for up to six months. It can be renewed only one time by filling out a new application and completing a new medical certification.
A permanent disability parking permit is valid for at least one year, depending on your medical certification. You can renew your permanent placard by completing the renewal notice you receive via mail and returning it via mail. You do not need a new medical certification.
Our licensed physicians are present in each state to help you determine your eligibility for a handicap parking permit. Be sure to contact us for an evaluation in Wyoming so you can start taking advantage of great parking benefits.