Kansas Handicap Parking Permits
Residents of Kansas who have one or more disabilities may qualify for a handicap parking placard or license place. The Kansas Department of Revenue provides eligible applicants with one of the following options:
- Permanent disability license plates (valid until the registration expires)
- Disabled veteran license plates (valid until the registration expires)
- Temporary disability placards (valid for up to six months)
- Permanent disability placards (valid for more than six months)
These options give anyone with a disability the opportunity to take advantage of the benefits of having a handicap placard in Kansas.
When you receive your handicap parking sticker, there are a few laws you must be aware of in Kansas. These laws and regulations include:
- Hanging your handicap decal from your rearview mirror when parked in a handicap spot
- Giving you the ability to park in metered spaces for up to 24 hours
- Free parking in all state, county and city metered spaces
If you park in a designated handicap parking spot and don’t have your disability ID, you could be subject to a fine or citation. Violators may have to pay anywhere between $100 and $300 for taking advantage of handicap parking without authorization. Anyone who provides false information to get a handicap parking sticker will be charged with a class C misdemeanor.
Parking Pass Requirements
Some of the main requirements for obtaining a handicap parking sticker in Kansas include:
- Not being able to walk without an assistive device like a wheelchair, a brace or crutches
- Suffering from a severe lung disease that limits breathing
- Inability to walk more than 100 feet without resting
- Requiring the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Having a severe visual impairment
- Suffering from a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition
- Dealing with an orthopedic, neurological or arthritic condition that limits mobility
Disabled veterans may also qualify to receive a handicap parking sticker in Kansas. The veteran’s disability must be at least 50% service-connected and the disability must be verified by the Veteran’s Administration.
How to Apply
The Kansas Department of Revenue allows applicants to apply for a handicap decal in person or by mail. The application process includes:
- Completing the Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate (Form TR-159)
- Medical certification by a licensed physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, optometrist, osteopathic practitioner, physician’s assistant, or nurse practitioner to verify your disability
- Applicable payment (placards are free; license plates are $0.50)
Click here to start applying for your disability certification with the help of a licensed Kansas physician.
Kansas law enforcement will recognize handicap license plates or placards from other states, so visitors don’t have to worry about applying for one in Kansas.
Residents with temporary handicap placards will have to apply for a new one if they wish to renew theirs when the six-month expiration date arrives. Applicants will have to provide a new medical certification as well.
If you believe you may qualify for a handicap license plate or placard in Kansas, be sure to contact us. We have licensed physicians in every state ready to evaluate your disability to determine whether you qualify.