Louisiana Handicap Tags
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles supplies a handicap permit to anyone with an eligible disability and who meets the requirements in the application process. The types of permits they issue include:
- Temporary handicap placards (valid for up to one year)
- Permanent handicap placards (valid for up to four years)
- Louisiana Disabled veteran license plates (valid for up to two years)
People who are visiting Louisiana can use the handicap parking sticker from their home state but must follow the laws and regulations of Louisiana. When you have a handicap parking sticker, you can:
- Park in areas designated for people with disabilities
- Park for two hours longer than the time posted on the meter or sign
In order to comply with handicap placard rules and regulations in Louisiana, you must:
- Display your handicap placard from your rearview mirror or clearly on your dashboard
- Not loan your placard to anyone else, even if they are disabled
- At least be a passenger in the vehicle, even if the person you are with isn’t disabled
Anyone who violates these laws could be subject to fines or penalties and potentially have their handicap parking privileges revoked. People who see or suspect handicap parking abuse should contact local law enforcement immediately.
Parking Pass Requirements
The general requirements for obtaining a Louisiana handicap tag include:
- Being restricted due to a lung disease
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition
- Not being able to walk 200 feet without resting
- Having a severe neurological, arthritic or orthopedic condition
- Requiring the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Needing assistance from a walking device like a wheelchair, cane, brace or other similar objects
Disabled veterans can also apply for a Louisiana disabled veteran license plate if the disability is at least 50% related to the military service. The disability must be certified by the Veteran’s Administration, and you must provide a copy of your vehicle registration at the time of the application.
How to Apply
Residents can only apply for a Louisiana handicap tag by visiting their local Office of Motor Vehicles office. You will need to:
- Complete the Louisiana DMV handicap form and application provided to you
- Have your doctor complete the Medical Examiner’s Certification of Mobility Impairment (Form DPSMV 1966)
- Bring a valid form of identification
- Be ready to answer specific questions about your disability
- Bring your vehicle registration (for license plates only)
- Bring payment ($3 for a placard; $10 for a license plate)
Click here to begin applying for certification for your disability with a licensed Louisianan physician.
Renewing any handicap placard or license plate must also be done in a Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles office:
- Disability license plates are renewed with your vehicle registration
- Permanent disability placard renewal requires your current placard, driver’s license and a $3 fee
- Temporary disability placard renewal requires new Louisiana DMV forms, applications, and a new medical certification. Temporary placards can only be re-applied for once.
If you think you may qualify for a Louisiana handicap tag, feel free to contact us. We have licensed physicians on standby in every state to evaluate your disability and determine whether you qualify.