South Carolina Handicap Placard
South Carolina residents with a disability are eligible to apply for a handicap parking placard to take advantage or parking benefits. The types of placards issued by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles includes:
- Temporary handicap placards (valid for up to one year, depending on your medical certification)
- Permanent handicap placards (valid for up to four years)
- Standard or personalized disability license plates (valid with your vehicle registration)
- Disabled veteran licence plates (valid for two years)
When you receive any of these South Carolina handicap placards, you can park in designated handicap spaces and park at parking meters within the city for free.
South Carolina Handicap Placard Laws
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles takes unauthorized use of a handicap parking placard seriously. In order to enforce these rules, your placard will have your picture on them so only you can use it. You must also keep your disability certificate with you at all times whenever you are using your handicap parking placard.
Any person who provides false information on their handicap parking permit application could face a misdemeanor offense. This type of offense could lead to up to 30 days in jail or a fine between $500 and $1,000.
Parking Pass Requirements
In order to be eligible for a handicap sign for your vehicle in South Carolina, you must meet the following requirements:
- Unable to walk 100 feet nonstop without experiencing pain or aggravating an existing medical condition
- Requiring the use of portable oxygen
- Being restricted by a severe lung disease
- Unable to walk without the assistance of a crutch, cane, brace, prosthetic device, another person, a wheelchair or other device
- Limited mobility due to a neurologic, arthritic or orthopedic condition
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to the standards of the American Heart Association
- Being legally blind
How To Get a Handicap Placard in South Carolina
When you complete your handicap parking permit application, you can submit it either via mail or in person at the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles office. The application process involves:
- Completing the Disabled Placard and License Plate Application (Form RG-007A)
- Providing a medical certification from a licensed physician
- Providing a prescription from the license physician, along with their signature
- Paying the applicable fees (placards are $1; license plates are $20; disabled veteran license plates are free; personalized license plates are an additional $30)
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in South Carolina.
No matter if you have a temporary or permanent South Carolina handicap placard, you must apply to receive a new one before your current one expires. This process involves filling out the application and providing a new medical certification, as if you were applying the first time.
Our licensed physicians are in every state ready to evaluate your disability to determine whether you qualify for a handicap parking placard. Be sure to contact us for your evaluation so you can take advantage of handicap parking benefits in South Carolina.