Maryland residents who have certain disabilities may be eligible to receive a handicap license plate or placard from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. The different types of handicap permit you can receive in Maryland include.
- License plates for permanent disabilities (valid for two years)
- Temporary placards for short-term disabilities (valid for up to six months)
- Permanent placards for long-term disabilities (valid for four years)
The type of handicap permit you receive depends on the nature of your disability, which will be determined by a physician.
Anyone with a handicap parking placard in Maryland must have it displayed from their rearview mirror or dashboard with the expiration date clearly shown. Failure to follow this rule could result in a fine. The placard must also be removed when the vehicle is in motion.
People with a handicap placard in Maryland must always keep their medical certification with them. Law enforcement officers have the right to ask for the certification to verify your eligibility for a handicap parking placard at any time.
Anyone who witnesses handicap parking abuse is encouraged to contact local authorities immediately to report the vehicle. Handicap parking abuse is a serious offense in Maryland, and violators are subject to significant fines.
Parking Pass Requirement
If you’re ready to fill out a handicap parking application in Maryland, here are some of the requirements you must meet:
- Inability to walk without assistance from a wheelchair, cane, brace or other device
- Loss or loss of use of in arms hands, feet or legs
- Inability to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Permanent disability severely impacting your ambulatory ability
- Having a severe lung disease
- Permanent impairment to both eyes
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiovascular disease
- Mobility impairment for at least three weeks
How to Apply
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration allows people to send in their handicap application form by mail, fax or in person at a local office. The application process includes:
- Filling out the Application for Maryland Parking Placards/License Plates for Individuals with a Disability (Form VR-210)
- Having a licensed physician, nurse practitioner, physician’s assistant, chiropractor, podiatrist, or optometrist fill out the certification on the form
- Submitting the appropriate payment (license plates are $20; placards are free)
Click here to obtain certification for your disability from a licensed Maryland physician.
While anyone with a handicap permit in Maryland can avoid paying fees at some parking locations, it’s important to always read signs. There are several ADA compliant parking meters installed throughout Maryland, and even people with a handicap permit must pay the meter fees.
If your temporary handicap expires, but you still need to use it, you will have to fill out a new handicap parking application with a new medical certification. For permanent handicap placard renewals, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will mail a renewal notice prior to the expiration with instructions on how to renew. License plate renewals are completed at the time of paying your vehicle registration renewal fees.
Maryland residents who believe they have a qualifying disability to receive a handicap license plate or placard should contact us right away. We have a licensed physician in every state to help determine your qualifications.