Washington State Handicap Placard
The Washington Department of Licensing issues several different types of disabled parking badges to residents with disabilities. The types of Washington state handicap placards you may be entitled to include:
- Temporary placards
- Permanent placards
- Disability license plates
- Disability parking tabs
- Disabled veteran license plates
Organizations that regularly transport people with disabilities may also apply for a Washington state handicap placard. Anyone visiting Washington can use the handicap placard from their home state as long as they follow the laws of Washington.
Washington State Handicap Parking Regulations
Applicants who knowingly provide false information on their handicap application form will be considered guilty of a gross misdemeanor in Washington. This misdemeanor is punishable by no more than one year in jail and a fine of no more than $5,000, or both.
When you receive your handicap parking pass, you must display it prominently from your rearview mirror when parked in a handicap parking space. Failure to do so could result in a citation. You must also remove the placard from the rearview mirror before putting the vehicle in motion.
Parking Pass Requirements
The state of Washington has several requirements you must meet in order to be eligible for a disabled parking badge, including:
- Limited mobility due to an orthopedic, arthritic or neurological condition
- Unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Requires the use of an assistive device for mobility
- Requires the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Severely restricted mobility as a result of lung disease
- Acute sensitivity to auto emissions that limits ability to walk
- Having a Class III or Class IV cardiovascular disease
- Being legally blind with limited mobility
- Restricted by porphyria
How to Get Handicap Parking Permit in Washington
The Washington Department of Licensing allows you to apply for a handicap placard or license plate by mail or in person at any one of their offices. The application process for a handicap permit in Washington state includes:
- Filling out the Disabled Parking Application for Individuals (Form TD-420-073)
- Having one of the following medical professionals complete the medical certification section:
- Licensed physician
- Registered nurse practitioner
- Physician’s assistant
- Paying the applicable fees (placards are free; parking tabs are $13.75; license plates are $32.75, which does not include vehicle registration fees)
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in Washington.
Renewing any disability placard or license plate is free. Temporary placards are valid for up to six months, and must be reapplied for if you need it for longer than that time.
Permanent placards are valid for up to five years and can be renewed as long as your medical certification is still valid. You will be sent a renewal reminder in the mail. If your medical certification expired for 31 days or longer, you must re-apply for a new placard with a new medical certification.
Disability license plates or tabs are renewed automatically when you renew your vehicle registration.
Our licensed physicians are available in every state to evaluate your disability and determine whether you may qualify for a handicap parking pass. Be sure to contact us if you believe you may qualify for one in Washington.