Utah Handicap Placard
Utah residents with a disability are entitled to receive a handicap parking permit if they meet certain qualifications. The different types of Utah handicap placards offered include:
- Permanent placards (valid for up to two years)
- Temporary placards (valid for up to six months)
- Permanent license plates (valid as long as your vehicle registration is valid)
- Permanent placards for organizations
Utah recognizes all handicap placards from other states, so you do not need to apply for a new one if you are visiting Utah. However, you must obey Utah handicap parking laws.
Utah Handicap Parking Laws
Anyone issued a Utah handicap placard must clearly display the permit on their vehicle when parked in a designated handicap spot. Failure to do so could result in a citation. The placard must also be removed prior to putting the vehicle in motion.
A person who provides false information in order to receive a handicap parking sticker, or a person who abuses handicap parking privileges when they have a legitimate disability, could be subject to a fine of at least $125 and could have handicap parking privileges revoked.
Parking Pass Requirements
Anyone who applies for a handicap parking permit must meet some specific requirements, including:
- Not being able to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Requires the use of a crutch, brace, cane, prosthetic device, wheelchair, another person or other assistive device to walk
- Requires the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Severely restricted by lung disease
- Limited mobility due to a neurological, arthritic or orthopedic condition
- Has a Class III or Class IV cardiac conditions as set forth in the American Heart Association standards
How to Apply
The Utah handicap parking application process is fairly straightforward. In order to apply, you need to:
- Complete the Disabled Person and Physician Disability Certification (Form TC-842)
- Have the medical certification section be completed and signed by a licensed physician
- Pay for the applicable fees (license plates are $16 ($20 if applying by mail); placards are free)
You can send in your Utah DMV handicap application via mail or submit it in person at any Utah Division of Motor Vehicles office.
Please click here for more information on how to get your online medical certification from a licensed physician in Utah.
Your temporary handicap placard cannot be renewed after its expiration. If you need another temporary placard after the six month expiration date, you must apply for a new one and submit a new medical certification.
Your permanent handicap placard can be renewed, and you do not need a new medical certification statement. Renewal methods may vary, so contact your local Utah Division of Motor Vehicles office for more information about renewals.
To renew your handicap license plate, you just need to renew your vehicle registration.
Our licensed physicians are available in every state to evaluate your condition to determine whether you are eligible for a handicap parking permit. Be sure to contact us for your evaluation and to start taking advantage of handicap parking benefits.