Apply for a Handicap Parking Placard in Nevada
Nevada residents with a disability can apply for a handicap parking pass from the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles and gain access to a number of handicap parking privileges. The types of handicap permits you may be eligible for include:
- Permanent handicap placard
- Moderate handicap placard
- Temporary handicap placard
- Permanent handicap license plate
- Disabled veteran license plate
- Expedited service permits
The type of handicap sign you could receive depends on the nature and severity of your disability, as indicated by your doctor.
When you have a handicap parking placard in Nevada, you are entitled to park in any designated areas for disabled drivers. You don’t have to be the driver of the vehicle, but you must at least be the passenger. Your handicap placard must be hanging from the rearview mirror when parked and removed when the vehicle is in motion.
Parking in a handicap parking spot without a disability is against the law and could lead to fines of at least $250 or citations. Any residents who notice someone parked in a handicap parking spot without a disability should report them to local authorities immediately.
Parking Pass Requirements
When you’re ready to get your handicap parking pass in Nevada, you must make sure you meet the following requirements:
- Can’t walk 200 feet without resting
- Requires the use of a crutch, brace, cane, wheelchair or other assistive device for mobility
- Needs a portable oxygen tank to breathe
- Be visually handicapped
- Restricted by a severe lung disease
- Suffers from a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition according to the American Heart Association standards
- Has a neurological, arthritic or orthopedic condition that severely limits the ability to walk
How to Apply
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles allows residents to send in their handicap parking placard application by mail, by fax or in person. You will need to:
- Complete the Disabled Persons License Plates and/or Placards Application (Form SP27)
- Have a licensed physician fill out the bottom portion of the application to certify your disability
If you are applying for a disability license plate in Nevada, you must apply in person. For those, you will need the same two items as above, in addition to:
- Your current license plates
- A valid emissions inspection (for renewals)
- Vehicle registration renewal fees
Click here to start the online application process and obtain your disability certification from a licensed Nevada physician.
All handicap placards or license plates in Nevada have expiration dates as follows:
- Handicap license plates expire after one yea
- Permanent handicap placards are valid for up to ten years
- Temporary handicap placards are valid for up to six months
- Moderate placards are valid for up to two years
Temporary or moderate handicap placard renewals require you to fill out a new application and have a new medical certification. Permanent handicap placard renewals do not require a new medical certification, but you must fill out the renewal application mailed to you prior to the expiration date.
Residents of Nevada who believe they may have a qualifying disability to receive a handicap permit should contact us immediately. We have licensed physicians in every state to help evaluate you and determine your qualifications.