Florida Handicap Parking
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles issues both temporary and permanent handicap placards and license plates to disabled people and transportation services for disabled people. The validity of each type of handicap sticker are as follows:
- Temporary license plates and placards – up to six months
- Permanent license plates and placards for individuals – up to four years, expiring on the owner’s birthday
- Permanent license plates and placards for organizations – up to four years, expiring on June 30
Submitting a Florida handicap parking application isn’t difficult as long as you meet the necessary requirements set forth by the state.
Handicap parking privileges get abused every day in Florida. If you see someone get out of a vehicle with a disabled parking badge, but the driver does not appear to be disabled, you should immediately notify law enforcement or the property owner. The subject could face:
- Up to $250 in fines
- A single $1,000 fine
- Up to one year in jail
The state of Florida takes handicap parking laws very seriously and will be quick to give a citation to any violator of the laws without question.
Parking Pass Requirements
Residents of Florida can apply for and be granted a handicap parking placard if they meet the following requirements:
- Restrictions as a result of lung disease
- Severely limited mobility due to an orthopedic, neurological or arthritic condition
- Permanent use of a wheelchair is needed
- Legal blindness
- Class III or Class IV cardiac condition, according to the American Heart Association standards
- Use of a portable oxygen tank
- And others
Disabled veteran license plates are also available for Florida residents, as long as the disability is at least 50% service-connected and verified by the Federal Government or the Veteran’s Administration. Applicants must fill out the Application for a Disabled, Disabled Veteran or Motorcycle International Wheelchair Symbol License Plate (Form HSMV 83007) and pay a $1.50 fee, which is due annually.
How to Apply
New applicants in Florida must apply for a handicap parking placard in person at a local tax collector’s office. The only time applications are accepted by mail is if materials have been previously submitted within the last year and the applicant is re-applying. The new Florida handicap parking application process involves:
- Completing the Application for Disabled Person Parking Permit (Form HSMV 83039)
- Having a licensed physician provide medical certification of your disability, which must be dated within the past year
- Your Florida driver’s license or identification card (if you do not have a driver’s license, you must have a certification from a doctor stating why you can’t get one)
- Payment (temporary placards are $15; permanent placards are free)
If you believe you are eligible for a disabled parking badge in Florida, but aren’t sure if you meet the qualifications, we have licensed physicians in every state to evaluate you. Be sure to contact us to determine whether you qualify for a handicap parking permit in Florida. Click here to get started with applying for your disability certification with the help of a qualified Florida physician.