Applying for Handicap Parking Permits in Mississippi
Residents of Mississippi who have a disability are eligible to receive a handicap parking placard or license plate from the Mississippi Department of Revenue. Depending on the nature and severity of your disability, you may be entitled to one of the following:
- Permanent disability license plate (valid up to five years)
- Temporary disability placard (valid up to six months)
- Permanent disability placard (valid up to five years)
- Disabled veteran license plate (valid up to five years)
Eligibility for any of these permits require the certification from a medical professional at the time of submitting your application.
When you have a handicap car sign in Mississippi, you must hang it from your rearview mirror where it is clearly visible. If you do not have a rearview mirror, it must be displayed clearly on your dashboard when parked in a handicap spot. It is unlawful to drive with the handicap car sign, so you must remove it when the vehicle is in motion.
People who abuse handicap parking privileges are subject to fines or citations. If you use a handicap parking sign for a car, you must have the disability stated on your application. Providing fraudulent information on your application to receive a handicap sign for your car can lead to serious fines, a confiscated permit and possible jail time.
Parking Pass Requirements
Eligible applicants for a handicap parking pass in Mississippi must meet the following requirements:
- Have a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition, according to the American Heart Association standards
- Severe mobility limitations due to neurological, orthopedic or arthritic conditions
- Lung disease restrictions
- Require the use of a portable oxygen tank
- Cannot walk without an assistive device
- Unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- And others
Disabled veterans must have a medical certification from the Veteran’s Affair Board to confirm the disability is 100% service-related in order to receive a handicap license plate.
How to Apply
In order to apply for a handicap parking permit in Mississippi, you can go into a local county tax collector’s office and fill out the appropriate form in person. You can also apply by mail under special circumstances. You will need the following to complete the application:
- A filled out Disabled Parking Application (Form 76-104)
- Medical certification by a licensed physician or nurse practitioner to determine the severity and duration of your disability
- Applicable fees (license plates require standard registration fees; placards are free; disabled license plates are $1)
Click here to start applying for your disability certification with a licensed physician in the state of Mississippi.
If it’s time to renew your handicap car sign, or if yours has been lost or stolen, contact your local Mississippi Department of Revenue office to determine the best way to handle it. Many times you can renew by mail, but some circumstances require you to renew or replace yours in person. Temporary placards are the only ones requiring a new medical certification at the time of renewal.
Many disabled Mississippi residents may qualify for a handicap placard and not even know it. We have licensed physicians in every state to confirm your eligibility, so be sure to contact us today.