Delaware Handicap Placard Applications
The Division of Motor Vehicles offers residents several options when it comes to issuing Delaware handicap placard parking permits. The different options include:
Placards – free of charge
- Temporary placards are valid for 35-90 days
- Permanent placards are valid for up to 3 years
License Plates – standard vehicle registration fee cost
- Only available for permanent disabilities and are renewable at the time of your vehicle’s registration
- Also available for disabled veterans
A disabled parking permit in Delaware allows you to park in designated handicap parking spaces. Visitors to Delaware may use the handicap sticker from their home state, but must follow state laws.
People who provide false information to obtain a disabled parking permit are subject to various fines and penalties. The specific penalties for violating handicap parking rules in Delaware include:
- $100 fine for the first offense
- $200 fine for the second and subsequent offenses
- Imprisonment anywhere between 10-30 days
If you notice people not following handicap parking rules, you are encouraged to contact local law enforcement to report the abuse. Be sure to record the license plate number of the offending vehicle, along with a detailed description of what you observed.
In order to comply with the law when you have a verified disability, you must hang your handicap placard from your rearview mirror when parked, and remove it when the vehicle is in motion.
Parking Pass Requirements
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles will issue a disabled parking permit to applicants with the following verified conditions:
- Limited walking ability due to neurological, arthritic or orthopedic conditions
- Lung disease
- Not being able to walk 200 feet without resting
- Class III or IV cardiac condition
- Requiring the use of a cane, brace, crutch, wheelchair or other assistive device to move
- Requiring a portable oxygen device
- And others
Disabled veterans in Delaware may also be eligible to receive Disabled Veteran Plates. You just need to fill out the Application for Special DAV-HP License Plates form, have a verified disability certified by the Veterans Administration, and a one-time $10 fee for your license plates. The application must be submitted in person at any Delaware DMV office.
How to Apply
Applying for a Delaware handicap placard or license plate is simple. You can submit the necessary paperwork either in person at a local Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles office or by mail. All you need is:
- A completed Application for Special License or Special Parking ID Placard for Persons with Disabilities (Form MV474)
- A certification by a licensed physician on the application form to verify your disability
Click here to apply for certification for your disability with a licensed Delaware doctor.
It’s important to note you don’t need medical certification by a physician if you are 85 years old or older. Renewals for a temporary Delaware handicap placard require you to re-apply for a new placard and provide a new medical certification by a physician. Permanent disabled placard renewals can be renewed online or by mail and only require self-certification of your disability.
We have licensed physicians in every state in the United States ready to help you verify your eligibility for a disabled parking pass. If you need assistance with determining your eligibility, be sure to contact us when you’re ready.