Get Your Disabled Parking Permit Online In Arizona

Arizona desert road

If you live in Arizona and have a qualifying condition, you should apply for your disabled parking permit. Having a permit makes life behind the wheel so much easier for disabled drivers, as it ensures you can use reserved and accessible parking at your destination. Applying for a permit is easy and inexpensive, provided you meet the criteria. So, would you like to know more about how to get your disabled parking permit online in Arizona? Read on for more information on qualifying conditions, the application process, and the rules and regulations surrounding your Arizona disability placard.

How Do I Get A Disabled Placard In Arizona?

The state of Arizona grants both temporary and permanent disabled parking permits, as well as placards. Getting a disabled placard or permit in Arizona is an easy process for those with a qualifying condition.

The following conditions qualify for a disabled parking permit in Arizona:

  • Not being able to walk 200 feet without rest
  • Having a cardiac condition
  • Suffering from a neurological, arthritic or orthopedic condition
  • Having a restrictive lung disease
  • Needing a mobility device like a wheelchair, crutch, brace or cane
  • Requiring portable oxygen

This list is not exhaustive – there are other conditions that may qualify for a disabled parking permit. This depends on the decision of the medical professional who carries out your consultation. For example, Arizona also offers disabled parking permits to those who are hearing impaired.

If you are a disabled veteran, you may also qualify for a disabled parking permit, provided that your disability is connected to your military service and is verified by the Department of Veteran Affairs.

person completing online application
Image by janeb13 on Pixabay: How do I get a disabled placard in Arizona?

Get Your Disabled Parking Permit Online In Arizona

An AZ disability placard application can be done entirely online and from the comfort of your own home thanks to telemedicine. The first step in the application process is to complete the Disability-Hearing Impaired Plate/Placard Application (Form 96-0104). This form can be found online or in person at your local Department of Motor Vehicles.

Before your form can be submitted, it’s vital to have it certified by a licensed medical professional in the state of Arizona. To do this, you will need to have a quick consultation with a licensed physician in AZ. During this roughly 10-minute consultation, you will be asked about your current condition and your medical history. Following this, the physician will sign your application form. If you lease your vehicle, you must also present the lease document.

Your application should include any relevant application fees. Permanent placards and license plates are free, but personalized plates and other special plates may incur a fee of $50+. Your application can be mailed in (if notarized) to the Arizona DMV, or you can apply in person at your local DMV office.

How Long Does It Take To Get A Disability Placard In Arizona?

Your application typically takes up to 28 days once it has been submitted and approved. You cannot use disabled parking places until you have received your disabled parking permit or plates. Doing so, even if you have a visible disability, may incur a fine.

If your license plate or placard gets damaged, stolen or misplaced, you can request a replacement from the Arizona Department of Transportation by completing the Placard Renewal/Replacement Request (Form 40-0112). Replacement placards are free and replacement license plates are $5.

disabled parking signs on ground
Image by gregroose at Pixabay: Wondering how to get your disabled parking permit online in Arizona? We’ve got all you need to know right here!

What Are The Laws Surrounding Your Disabled Parking Permit In Arizona?

Everyone needs a valid disabled parking permit or placard to use disabled parking in Arizona. Failure to accurately display your disabled parking permit may result in a fine. It’s really important to ensure your permit is always displayed correctly – preferably hanging on the rear-view mirror. Only people with a valid disability placard can park in designated parking spots, and the disable driver must be present.

A fine of up to $50 and parking violations of up to $250 could be enforced for those who park in disabled parking places without a valid permit. Violating the laws could also revoke handicap parking privileges. (In Arizona, it is important to be aware that hearing impaired license plates do not allow you to park in disabled parking spots – they are used to notify other drivers or police officers that you are hearing impaired and are not for parking purposes.)

In order to enforce the disabled parking laws in Arizona, many areas have volunteer parking enforcement, which aims to prevent people from abusing disability parking regulations.

So there you have it: the application process for an AZ disabled parking permit in a nutshell. If you need more information, get in touch with us to speak to one of our medical professionals in Arizona!

Featured image by manniguttenberger on Pixabay