How To Get Your Handicap Parking Permit In San Antonio

Let’s take a look at the process of getting a disabled parking permit in San Antonio, Texas. Below we’ll answer all your questions, including: Is disabled parking free in San Antonio? What types of handicap parking permits are available in San Antonio? How do you get a handicap parking permit in San Antonio? What are the qualifying conditions for a handicap permit in San Antonio? And how do you renew a handicap permit in San Antonio?

Who Issues Disabled Parking Permits In San Antonio?

Disabled parking permits in San Antonio are issued by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Applications for disabled parking permits or license plates in the city should be submitted to a local county tax collector’s office.

Disabled Parking Rules In San Antonio

San Antonio disabled parking permit holders are entitled to park in any designated disabled space in the city. Disabled spaces are marked with signposts that show the International Symbol of Access. Permit holders are also entitled to park in on-street, metered parking spaces for an unlimited amount of time.

river in downtown san antonio texas
Image by Eric Francis on Unsplash: Is disabled parking free in San Antonio?

Is Disabled Parking Free In San Antonio?

Parking is free for disabled permit-holders in San Antonio, both in designated disabled spaces and at metered, on-street spaces.

What Is The Fine For Illegally Parking In A Handicap Spot In San Antonio?

The fines for parking illegally in a disabled parking space in San Antonio range from $500 to $750.

What Types Of Handicap Parking Permits Are Available In San Antonio?

The following handicap parking permits are available in San Antonio:

  • Permanent handicap parking placards (blue)
  • Temporary handicap parking placards (red)
  • Permanent handicap parking license plates
  • Disabled Veterans license plates
  • Institutional handicap parking placard (for institutions and organizations that transport people with disabilities)

How To Get Your Handicap Parking Permit In San Antonio

To get a handicap parking permit in San Antonio, first head to the Dr. Handicap online clinic and have a video consultation with a medical professional.

They will verify your disability and sign the relevant section of a Texas DMV disabled parking permit application form. You can then complete the form and submit it to your local tax collector’s office.

What Are The Qualifying Conditions For A Handicap Parking Permit In San Antonio?

The qualifying conditions for a handicap parking permit in San Antonio are:

  • An inability to walk 200 feet without needing to stop to rest.
  • An inability to walk without the use of or assistance from an assistance device, including a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair, another person, or a prosthetic device.
  • Lung disease
  • A cardiac condition classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the American Heart Association.
  • A severely limited ability to walk because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
  • The use of portable oxygen.
  • A foot disorder that limits or impairs a person’s ability to walk.
  • Another debilitating condition that, in the opinion of a qualifying physician, limits or impairs a person’s ability to walk.
  • Visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting lenses.
  • Visual acuity of more than 20/200 but with a limited field of vision in which the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle of 20 degrees or less.

Who Can Verify An Application For A Disabled Permit In San Antonio?

The following medical professionals can verify an application for a disabled permit in San Antonio:

  • Physician
  • Physician’s assistant
  • Advanced practice nurse
  • Podiatrist
  • Optometrist

The medical professional must also meet one of the following conditions:

  • They are licensed in Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, or Oklahoma
  • They practice medicine in a U.S. military installation based in Texas
  • They practice medicine in a hospital or health facility of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

How Much Does A Handicap Placard Cost In San Antonio?

Permanent placards are free in San Antonio and Temporary placards cost $5.

downtown san antonio street
Image by Weston MacKinnon on Unsplash: How do you get a handicap parking permit in San Antonio?

How Long Are Handicap Parking Permits Valid In San Antonio?

Permanent disabled parking permits and institutional permits are valid for four years, and temporary disabled parking placards are valid for six months.

How Do You Renew A Handicap Parking Permit In San Antonio?

You renew your disabled permit in San Antonio by submitting a new application form to your local tax collector’s office. If you are applying to renew your permanent permit you do not need a new physician’s signature, but if you are applying for a new temporary permit, you do.

Where Can You Use A San Antonio Handicap Parking Permit?

You can use a San Antonio handicap parking permit in the following jurisdictions:

  • All US states and overseas territories
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • EU
  • UK
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Japan

Featured image by Chandra Maharzan on Unsplash

How Do I Get A Handicap Parking Permit In San Jose?

Disabled drivers who live in San Jose, California, are entitled to use the city’s disabled parking infrastructure. San Jose’s disabled parking program exists to improve the lives of disabled residents and visitors to the city, and to enable easier access to the city’s amenities.

So, how do you get a handicap parking permit in San Jose? What types of San Jose disabled parking permits are available? And what are the qualifying conditions for a handicap permit in San Jose? Below, we’ll answer these important questions and more.

Accessible Parking In San Jose

The city of San Jose is well stocked with accessible parking spaces. This website shows the location of parking for people with disabilities in downtown San Jose.

Who Issues San Jose Handicap Parking Cards?

San Jose handicap parking permits are issued by the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles.

waterfront houses in san jose california
Image by Timo Wielink on Unsplash: How do I get a handicap parking permit in San Jose?

How Do I Get A Handicap Parking Permit In San Jose?

To get a handicap parking permit in San Jose, you should begin by having a telemedicine consultation with a California-licensed medical professional. This can be done at the Dr. Handicap online clinic.

Once a state-licensed medical professional verifies your disability, they will fill in the Doctor’s Certification section of a handicap parking application form. You will then submit the completed application form to the California DMV along with any necessary fee (permanent permits are free and temporary permits cost $6).

You can submit your application in person at your local DMV office or by mailing it to:

  • DMV Placard
    PO Box 932345
    Sacramento, CA 94232-3450

What Types Of San Jose Disabled Parking Permits Are Available?

There are four types of handicap parking permits available in San Jose:

  • Permanent handicap parking placard or license plate
  • Temporary handicap parking placard
  • Organization handicap parking placard
  • Disabled Veterans license plate

Who Can Verify An Application For A Handicap Parking Permit In San Jose?

Several different types of medical professionals can verify an application for a handicap parking permit in San Jose:

  • Licensed physician
  • Surgeon
  • Nurse practitioner
  • Physician assistant
  • Certified nurse-midwife
  • Licensed chiropractor
  • Licensed optometrist

What Are The Qualifying Conditions For A Handicap Parking Permit In San Jose?

You will qualify for a handicap parking permit in San Jose if:

  • You have lost the use of both hands or one or both lower extremities
  • You have a disease that impairs or interferes with mobility
  • You are unable to walk without the aid of an assistive device
  • You have visual problems, including lower vision or partial-sightedness

How Long Are San Jose Handicap Parking Permits Valid?

San Jose handicap parking permits are valid for either:

  • Two years (permanent disabled parking placards) or
  • Six months (temporary disabled parking placards)

How Do You Renew A Handicap Parking Permit In San Jose?

You can renew a handicap parking permit in San Jose by submitting an application form in person at your local DMV office or by mailing it to:

  • DMV Placard
    PO Box 932345
    Sacramento, CA 94232-3450

Can I Get A Handicapped Parking Space In Front Of My House In San Jose?

You can request the installation of a residential disabled parking space in front of your house by phoning (408) 535-3850 or submitting an email request to traffic.safety@sanjoseca.gov.

san diego street
Image by Andrii Ganzevych on Unsplash: How long are San Jose handicap parking permits valid? This depends on the type of permit.

Parking Rules In San Jose

A San Jose handicap parking permit entitles its holder to park:

  • In designated disabled parking spaces (marked with the International Symbol of Access)
  • Next to a blue curb (which marks spaces that are authorized for disabled permit holders)
  • Next to a green curb for up to 72 hours
  • In metered, on-street spaces for free

San Jose permit-holders are not entitled to park:

  • In spaces marked with a crosshatched pattern next to a disabled space
  • Next to a red, yellow, or white curb

Where Can I Use A San Jose Handicap Parking Permit?

San Jose handicap parking permits are valid in:

  • All US states
  • All US overseas territories
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • UK
  • EU
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • New Zealand

Featured image by Mo on Unsplash

How Can I Get A Handicap Parking Placard In San Diego?

Disabled people in San Diego are well served by the city’s handicap parking infrastructure. The San Diego disabled parking program is well-run and user-friendly.

If you are a resident of San Diego who has a disability but has not yet applied for a handicap parking permit, you may have several questions, such as…

How can I get a handicap parking placard in San Diego? How do I get handicapped parking in front of my house in San Diego? What are the disabled parking rules in San Diego?

Below, we will answer these important questions.

Who Issues Disabled Parking Permits In San Diego?

Disabled parking permits in San Diego are issued by the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles.

What Types Of Disabled Parking Permits Are Available In San Diego?

The following types of disabled parking permits are available in San Diego:

  • Permanent disabled parking placard or license plate
  • Temporary disabled parking placard
  • Organization disabled parking placard
  • Disabled Veterans license plate
san diego bay
Image by Daniel Guerra on Unsplash: How can I get a handicap parking placard in San Diego?

How Can I Get A Handicap Parking Placard In San Diego?

You can get a handicap parking permit in San Diego by having a video consultation with a California medical professional on the Dr. Handicap online clinic.

Once the medical professional verifies your disability, they will sign the Doctor’s Certification section of an application form. You then complete the application form and submit it to the California DMV. Permanent permits are free and temporary permits cost $6.

Completed applications can be submitted in-person at any DMV field office or by mail to:

DMV Placard
PO Box 932345
Sacramento, CA 94232-3450

Who Can Verify An Application For A Disabled Permit In San Diego?

The following types of medical professionals can verify an application for a disabled parking permit in San Diego:

  • Licensed physician
  • Physician assistant
  • Nurse practitioner
  • Certified nurse midwife
  • Surgeon
  • Licensed chiropractor
  • Licensed optometrist

What Are The Qualifying Conditions For A Disabled Parking Permit In San Diego?

A person will qualify for a disabled parking permit in San Diego if they have one of the following disabilities:

  • They have lost the use of both hands or one or both lower extremities
  • They have a disease that impairs or interferes with mobility
  • They are unable to walk without the aid of an assistive device
  • They have visual problems, including lower vision or partial sightedness

When Do Disabled Parking Permits Expire In San Diego?

In San Diego, permanent disabled parking placards expire after two years and temporary placards expire after six months.

How Do I Renew A Disabled Parking Placard In San Diego?

You renew your disabled permit in San Diego by submitting a completed application form in-person at any DMV field office or by mail to:

DMV Placard
PO Box 932345
Sacramento, CA 94232-3450

How Do I Get Handicapped Parking In Front Of My House In San Diego?

You can apply for handicapped parking in front of your house by submitting a request to the San Diego Traffic Engineering Division:

san diego houses near ocean
Image by Ruben Gutierrez on Unsplash: How do I get handicapped parking in front of my house in San Diego?

Disabled Parking Rules In San Diego

Disabled permit holders in San Diego are entitled to park:

  • In designated ‘disabled’ parking spaces (marked with the International Symbol of Access)
  • Next to a blue curb (blue curbs indicate the space is authorized for people with disabilities)
  • Next to a green curb for up to 72 hours (green curbs indicate time-limited parking)
  • In an on-street, metered parking space for free

San Diego disabled permit holders may not park:

  • In spaces marked with a crosshatched pattern next to a disabled parking space
  • Next to a red curb (which indicates no stopping, standing, or parking at any time)
  • Next to a yellow curb (which indicates that a space is reserved for use by commercial vehicles)
  • Next to a white curb (which indicates that a space is for loading and unloading passengers or depositing mail)

Where Are San Diego Disabled Parking Permits Valid?

San Diego handicap parking placards are valid in every US state, all US overseas territories, and the following foreign countries:

  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • UK
  • EU
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • New Zealand

Disabled permits from all of these states and countries are also recognized in San Diego.

Featured image by Derek Story on Unsplash

Is Handicap Parking A Federal Law?

Handicap parking laws exist to make life easier for people with a wide range of disabilities and mobility issues. Without a strictly implemented set of rules, the disabled parking program couldn’t be of optimal service to its users.

The handicap parking program contains lots of legally binding rules and regulations. These important directives deal with parking space dimensions and locations, signage, numbers, qualifying conditions, how to apply for a disabled parking permit, and what types of disabled permits are available.

Is Handicap Parking A Federal Law?

A federal law is a law put in place by the federal government and enforced by federal and state authorities. Federal laws apply in all 50 states.

The handicap parking program includes several legally binding rules and regulations. Many of the most important details of the handicap parking program are federal laws; however, some details of each state’s specific handicap parking program are state laws that apply locally but not across all states.

washington capitol building
Image by pierre9x6 on Pixabay: Is handicap parking a federal law?

What Federal Law Deals With Handicap Parking?

The federal law that deals with the handicap parking program is the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

What Is ADA Parking?

ADA parking refers to disabled parking that adheres to Americans with Disabilities Act rules and regulations.

What Makes A Legal Handicap Spot?

A legal handicap spot needs to be properly signposted with a sign that is mounted at least five feet above the ground. A legal handicap parking spot also needs to be a minimum of eight feet wide, with an aisle space adjacent that is also a minimum of five feet wide. A legal handicap parking spot for a van must be at least 11 feet wide, and there must be an accessible path from the aisle to an accessible entrance of the building it serves.

ADA Parking Space Requirements 2021

The ADA parking space requirements in 2021 are:

  • Handicap spaces can only be used by handicap parking permit holders
  • Handicap spaces must be properly signposted
  • Handicap spaces must be appropriately sized
  • Handicap spaces must exist in legally dictated numbers in parking lots and on streets
  • Handicap spaces must be located on the most accessible routes to the buildings and amenities they serve

Who Enforces Handicap Spots?

Handicap spots are enforced by local authorities, usually police forces, parking authorities, and disabled parking authorities.

What Handicap Parking Laws Are Decided By Individual States?

Several handicap parking laws are decided and implemented by individual states and only apply in certain states.

States Decide Specific Handicap Parking Qualifying Conditions

Each state decides what the legal qualifying conditions for handicap parking will be in that state. The following list of qualifying conditions applies in a large majority of states; however, some states have other qualifying conditions as well as these:

  • An inability to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
  • An inability to walk without an assistive device
  • Legal blindness
  • Lung disease
  • Portable oxygen tank usage
  • A heart condition classified Class III or IV by the American Heart Association
  • A neurological, arthritic, or orthopedic condition that curtails mobility

States Have Different Types Of Handicap Parking Permits Available

Each state decides what types of disabled parking permits to offer. The following are the most commonly offered types of disabled permit:

Each state has its own laws regarding when disabled parking permits expire and how to renew them.

disabled parking sign
Image by charfilmax on Pixabay: What are ADA parking space requirements in 2021?

States Allow Different Medical Professionals To Verify Handicap Parking Applications

Each state decides which types of medical professionals can verify a person’s eligibility for disabled parking and sign a disabled parking permit application form.

All States Allow Handicap Parking Permit Reciprocity

Every American state recognizes disabled parking permits issued by all other states. Due to the fact that each state follows federal handicap parking laws but also has its own unique state laws, it is important to research the handicap parking laws in any state you are intending to visit.

How Do You Get A Handicap Parking Permit In 2021?

The best way to get a handicap parking permit in 2021 is to visit the Dr. Handicap online clinic and set up a telemedicine consultation with a licensed medical professional. Once your disability has been verified, the medical professional will complete, sign, and email you a disabled parking application form for you to finish and submit to your local DMV.

Featured image by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Alcohol & Driving: How To Make Sure You’re On The Right Side Of The Law In Every State

As a driver, it is your responsibility to make smart and safe decisions every time you get behind the wheel. You follow the rules of the road such as the speed limit, parking restrictions, and so on, so what about when it comes to alcohol and driving? There are many laws in place that you should be following anytime you imbibe alcohol (or other substances that might affect your driving abilities). Here’s a rundown of what you need to know to stay safe.

Is it illegal to drive with any alcohol in your system?

In most states, you are permitted to drive with alcohol in your system if it’s at a very low level. However, if you are acting impaired or are making poor decisions behind the wheel, you can still be penalized even if you’re under the legal limit.

Many states have Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) laws that help law enforcement and prosecutors determine whether you were unable to operate a vehicle safely because of alcohol intake. This especially comes into play if you’re involved in an accident where someone has been injured or killed.

Is drunk driving illegal in all 50 states?

At this time, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher in all 50 states. In order to avoid fines or jail time, you must have a lower BAC when you’re tested (either in the field or at a police station). At a 0.08% level, drivers are so impaired that they’re 11 times more likely to have a single-vehicle car accident than drivers with no alcohol in their system.

Dr Handicap - driving car
Image by Hannah Sutherland on Unsplash: Drunk driving laws by state can vary, so look up regulations in your home state.

Alcohol and driving: rules to know

Here’s what you should know anytime you’re going to be drinking and driving.

The nationwide legal limit

As mentioned above, the legal limit is a BAC of 0.08% or higher on a Breathalyzer or a blood test. Typically, a single drink is either one shot of liquor, a five-ounce glass of wine, or one beer (which all contain about the same amount of alcohol). A 120-pound woman can reach a 0.08% after only two drinks and a 180-pound man can reach it after only four drinks. Keep this in mind when you decide to drink before driving – you can become impaired fairly quickly.

Your specific state’s legal limit

Aside from the nationwide legal limit, there can be drunk driving laws that vary by state. These different laws can impose more regulations regarding impaired drivers. For example, Arizona has the standard 0.08% BAC limit, but drivers can also be charged with Extreme DUIs for having a BAC over 0.15% or Super Extreme for having a BAC over 0.20%. These come with much higher penalties.

Your best bet is to do some research on the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website for your particular state. Becoming educated can help ensure that you’re never breaking the law when you get behind the wheel.

Driving restrictions when traveling to other states

If you’re going to be traveling or driving in a state other than your own, it can be helpful to look up their specific laws and regulations as well. This can help you understand what is legally permitted in that particular state before you travel there.

The consequences in your state

The consequences of drinking and driving can vary greatly depending on the state you’re driving in. Some states have more stringent laws than others. Let’s look at California, for example: a person convicted of a DUI here faces imprisonment in a county jail for anywhere from 96 hours to six months and has to pay a fine of $390–$1,000. Their license can be suspended for six months. A second DUI is even more serious, with jail for 90 days to one year, a similar fine, and a license suspension for two years. Each DUI after that gets increasingly severe punishments.

If you’ve been in an accident where someone was hurt (or even killed), the consequences are much more dire. California also has strict penalties for drivers who drive drunk with minors in the car. It’s vital to make sure that you fully understand what could happen before you get behind the wheel after drinking alcohol.

Dr Handicap - breathalyzer
Image by miguelrd68 on Pixabay: If you’re suspected of driving under the influence, police can do Breathalyzer tests on the scene.

How to tell your own limit

Alcohol can have varying effects on a person because of different metabolisms, body chemistry, weight, etc., so you should become very familiar with what your own limits are. You might feel impaired after just one drink; it’s quite possible for your reaction times to slow after this amount. Therefore, you should understand your own body and make appropriate choices to ensure the safety of yourself and everyone else on the road.

You don’t have to get behind the wheel after you’ve had a drink. Remember that getting a ride from Uber or Lyft or calling a cab can be a much smarter way to go if you’ve been drinking. Always make the safest decision so that you’re not endangering yourself or others. Know your own limits and research the laws in your state, and you’ll be able to stay safe and on the right side of the law!

Featured image by Kelsey Chance on Unsplash