Qualifying Conditions For A Disabled Parking Placard In Colorado
Today we’re here to talk about all things disabled parking in Colorado! Let’s go over the different types of permits and the specific qualifying conditions that entitle a person to get a Colorado disabled parking permit.
What Do You Need To Get A Disability Placard In Colorado?
People with various categories of disabilities qualify for a disabled parking permit in Colorado. Disabilities that qualify for Colorado disabled parking are defined as follows:
- Permanent: A condition that is not expected to change within a person’s lifetime.
- Extended: A condition that is not expected to change within 30 months after the issuance of plates or placards.
- Temporary: A condition that is expected to last less than 30 months after the issuance of plates or placards.
- Short Term: A condition that is not expected to last more than 90 days after the issuance of a placard.
What Are The Qualifying Conditions For A Disabled Parking Placard In Colorado?
So, what conditions qualify for disabled parking in Colorado? A person will qualify if they are disabled in one or more of the following ways:
- They cannot walk 200 feet without needing to stop to rest.
- They cannot walk without the use of an assistive device such as a crutch, cane, brace, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or another person.
- They are restricted by lung disease to such an extent that their forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg on room air or at rest.
- They use portable oxygen.
- They have a cardiac condition that is classified as Class III or IV by the American Heart Association.
- They have a severely limited ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
What Types Of Disabled Parking Permits Are Available In Colorado?
The following types of disabled parking permits are available in Colorado:
- Three-Year Disabled Placard or Plates – for people with extended or permanent disabilities.
- Temporary Disabled Placard – for people with short-term disabilities.
- Remuneration-Exempt Disability Placard – for people who have lost fine motor control in both hands; are unable to reach a height of 48 inches from the ground due to lack of finger, hand, or upper extremity strength or mobility; or are unable to reach a parking meter due to the use of a wheelchair or other ambulatory device.
- Disabled Veterans license plates
How Do You Get A Disabled Parking Permit In Colorado?
So, how do you make a disability placard application in Colorado? Fortunately, it is a quick and easy process. Firstly, visit the Dr. Handicap online clinic and schedule a video consultation with a medical professional. Both you and the medical professional will complete the relevant sections of an application form.
Completed application forms must be submitted to the Colorado Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles. In Colorado, applications can be submitted in person, by mail, or through the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles website.
Who Can Certify An Application For A Disability Placard Application in Colorado?
The following medical professionals can certify an application for a disabled parking permit in Colorado:
- Licensed physician
- Commissioned Medical Officer of the U.S. Armed Forces, the U.S. Public Health Service, and/or the U.S. Veterans Administration
- Advanced Practice Nurse
- Physician’s Assistant
- Chiropractor (short-term permit only)
- Physical Therapist (short-term permit only)
When Does A Disabled Parking Permit Expire In Colorado?
Colorado three-year disabled permits expire, as the name suggests, after three years. Colorado temporary placards expire after 90 days. Temporary placards can only be renewed once.
How Do You Renew A Disabled Permit In Colorado?
Once your Colorado disabled parking permit expires, you can renew it by submitting an application form to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles. There is no fee to renew Colorado disabled placards.
New medical certification is required when renewing if the applicant has a temporary or short-term disability. People with a permanent disability need to get medical certification on every third renewal.
What Are The Colorado Disabled Parking Laws?
Colorado disabled parking laws allow a permit holder to park in any designated disabled parking space in the state. Holders of out-of-state disabled permits are also entitled to use Colorado disabled parking infrastructure.
Where Can You Use A Colorado Disabled Parking Permit?
Colorado disabled parking permits are available in all US states, all US overseas territories, and the following countries:
- New Zealand
Featured image by Arpan Parikh on Pexels