A Guide To Disabled Parking In South Dakota
For many people, having a disabled parking permit allows them to be much more mobile. They can visit buildings and shopping centers without having to walk a long distance, which can be rather challenging for someone with a disability. It is important to know the process for obtaining a disabled parking permit, as the rules and regulations can vary from state to state.
To access disabled parking in South Dakota, there are certain qualifying conditions that one must meet before being issued a permit, and there is a specific way to obtain a permit from your local Division of Motor Vehicles. Below, you’ll find everything you need to know about how to get a disabled parking permit in South Dakota.
Qualifying Conditions for Disabled Parking in South Dakota
In order to qualify for a disabled parking permit in South Dakota, you must first visit your doctor to determine your eligibility. According to the Division of Motor Vehicles, a South Dakota disabled parking permit is available for those who have significant mobility issues, such as someone who:
- cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
- uses portable oxygen;
- has a cardiac condition to the extent that his or her functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or IV according to the American Heart Association leaflet “The Functional and Therapeutic Classifications of Patients with Diseases of the Heart” (printed June 1, 1990);
- is unable to walk without the use of (or assistance from) a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive devices;
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s respiratory expiratory volume for one second is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less that 60mm/hg on room air at rest;
- is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
Types of South Dakota Disabled Parking Permit
There are two different types of permits for disabled parking in South Dakota: Disabled Person Plates and Disabled Veteran Plates.
For the Disabled Person Plates, you must be an owner of a vehicle or motorcycle and a resident of the state of South Dakota. You must have also complied with all the laws of the state regarding obtaining a regular number license plate. There is no additional charge for Disabled Person Plates.
In order to obtain Disabled Veteran Plates, a person must be an owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle and a resident veteran who is either:
- a recipient of a Veterans’ Administration K Award;
- a recipient of an automobile under Public Law 187;
- a recipient of a statutory benefit for loss, or loss of use of one or more extremities; or
- a recipient of a veteran’s allotment for total disability which is a service-connected injury.
Additionally, it is a requirement that the injury incurred while in active duty during a time of war, or while participating in a military mission involving armed conflict. There is an annual fee of $10 for the Disabled Veteran vehicle or motorcycle plate. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed in the application.
How to Get a Disabled Parking Permit in South Dakota
In order to obtain a Disabled Person Plate, applicants must complete a Disabled Person Parking Permit and License Plates Application (MV-044). The application must include the physician’s certificate, which is included in the application.
For those wishing to apply for a Disabled Veteran plate and license, the Veteran’s Administration in Sioux Falls, South Dakota must verify the applicant’s status as a Disabled Veteran. Once that is verified, the division will issue the Disabled Veteran plate and license. If the applicant does not qualify for Disabled Veteran status, the $10 application fee will be refunded.
How to Use a Disabled Parking Permit in South Dakota
If an applicant only requires a temporary South Dakota handicap parking permit, they still complete the application listed above; however, their placard will only be valid for up to one year. Permanent placards are issued for more than one year, but cannot exceed five years. Permanent placards can be renewed up to 90 days before the expiration date printed on their permit, and no doctor certification is required.
Those who misplace their South Dakota disabled parking permit, or if their placard is stolen or damaged, must complete the Disabled Person Parking Permit and License Plates Application, which must be submitted to the local county treasurer’s office. If the applicant was issued more than one placard in their initial application, they must provide the placard number of the remaining or second placard. If the placard is simply deteriorated or damaged, the applicant must submit them along with their application for a new one.